RIP Multimedia Shooter.com


image003.png 

 Richard Koci Hernandez who created and maintained Multimediashooter.com has announced that someone has hacked his site. Richard writes:

I write this with a very heavy heart:

I am sorry to report that this website is down for the count. The site was recently hacked several times this weekend and severe damage was done. I do not have the time or resources at this time to

continue. I wish you all the best. I only wish this hadn’t happened.

[To the ‘hacker’ I hope it makes you happy to destroy something that people put their heart and soul into for years, for the sole purpose of learning and creating a small community

on the web. Just to have you destroy it for no reason. You win. There is a special place in hell for you.]

To those of you who supported the site over the years, THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

I don’t know what more to say, except, remember, it’s all about the STORY, not the TOOLS.

-r

Richard, my jaw dropped to the floor after reading the above. Multimedia Shooter has been a constant inspiration to me a countless other newspaper photojournalists turned videographers. I know it took way too much of your time busy schedule to produce. Yet you did, and you shared what you learned with everyone. So thank you. The entire multimedia community mourns Multimedia Shooter’s loss with you. I am hoping, in time, you will rebuild.

And to the hacker… A curse upon your house…  

  

5 thoughts on “RIP Multimedia Shooter.com

  1. I check MMS.com every day, sometimes more than once, and followed every link. I found it inspiring, learned a lot, and had made it a career goal to have some MM featured on the site. Thanks to Koci for all the hard work.

  2. Maybe those who have RSS readers that keep posts archived can help to rebuild the site!

    I can´t help because i use netvibes.

    Florencia

  3. Hello — We produced a webcast with skpe today. I like this particular webcast because it showcases the technology well. Please let me know what you think. If you choose to post it, let me know too. http://www.whatthe5.com will take you to a different show tomorrow (Tuesday, June 17, 2008)
    Best,
    Karen

  4. Pingback: Web site issues - Chuck's Q Blog

Comments are closed.