Peter Huoppi video’s are a slice of heaven


I recently ran across this blog by multimedia journalist Peter Huoppi who works at the newspaper The Day in New London, Connecticut. Two of Huoppi’s more recent video stories show where I believe the best in newspaper video storytelling is heading. The videos “Vampires in Connecticut” and “Mystic Pizza” are based in solid journalism and feature a strong use of voice-overs. The video editing is well-paced and you can tell the b-roll was shot by someone with a photographer’s eye.

What I like best about these two stories is that they are told well. Both are a bit long by newspaper website standards, but I found I watched them to the end because they were compelling. I think what works best in both of these pieces is the use of voice-overs that help move the story along. This is where I feel newspaper videographers need to start developing more.

Last week, a post in the B-roll.net forum, showcased my last blog post about the video meltdown at my newspaper. The tone of some of the comments said basically that newspapers shouldn’t do video because we suck at it. All I have to say to that is look at what Peter Huoppi is producing. His stories are better produced than most of the ambulance chasing stories I see on my local TV news each day. And he didn’t need a fleet of reporters, producers, video editors and engineers to publish it. Newspaper video storytelling on the web will only improve with time.  Having video storytellers like Peter Huoppi to inspire us will only make us better.

3 thoughts on “Peter Huoppi video’s are a slice of heaven

  1. I’ve been keeping up with your blog for a few weeks now. Great stuff. I was wondering if you’d seen this apple feature about the multimedia group at the Washington Post.

    I’m a big new fan of OnBeing: http://specials.washingtonpost.com/onbeing/

    Photo Stories is great too:
    http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcast?id=261226748

    …this is probably old news to you. Just thought I’d share. Good luck with your layoffs. (quote from Office Space)

Comments are closed.