Two approaches to daily newspaper video


 

Reflections Med Spas of Spokane host Botox parties to entice woman to use their cosmetic services.

Reflections Med Spas of Spokane host Botox parties to entice woman to use their cosmetic services.

The great thing about shooting video for newspapers is that you don’t have to fit the storytelling in a confined format like TV news does. The last two videos I have produced for Spokesman.com were done with totally different  storytelling approaches. The first video I did was on a local day spa that hosted a Botox party for women. Here, I let the subjects at the party tell the story. I shot it in one evening and then futzed around with the edit for couple of days in between daily still photo assignments. The other video was on a snowboarding competition held at a local college.  I tried a totally different approach with this video. A daily story planned for the page one, so I didn’t see the need to do the same print story in video. Time was tight and I really wanted to get home in time for dinner.

rail

Watch the thrills and the spills as snowboarders and skiers from around the region participate in the Cricket Wireless Campus Rail Jam Tour

 

The Botox story was all about people. Getting them to tell me why they felt the need to get Botox injections was key to my story. I did interviews with a doctor and the director of the spa, which gave me the narrative framework for my story. Then I just filled in my timeline with other quick-hit interviews. From a low angle, I did a fun interview with a woman who was face down in a chair getting a massage. With my raw video, I edited a story that was fairly linear. I opened with women socializing with wine and hors d’oeuvres as my beginning. Then moved on to them getting free massages and facials for the middle. Finally, I shot copious amounts of footage of several people getting facial Botox injections to lead me out of the story.

With the snowboarder story, I ditched all my normal storytelling conventions. My Sony EX-1 video camera has the ability to over crank video for ultra smooth slow motion. This was the first time I have experimented with this feature and I am mesmerized by it.  My video is two minutes of snowboarders riding the rails. A music track is my only audio. Many boarders fell on their butts and heads, which the slow motion effect made it fun to watch. I think there is lots of room left to experiment with different storytelling methods. My two daily videos will probably not win any awards, but I hopw the viewers, who took the time to watch, were at least entertained by what they saw.

3 thoughts on “Two approaches to daily newspaper video

  1. The snowboarding piece is a great example of “illustrative video.” It doesn’t have to stand alone as a story, it just gives the viewer the experience of being there, and it’s fun to watch.

    I didn’t realize the EX-1 lets you crank for slo-mo like that. Another reason to upgrade. Sports in slo-mo from the Z1U ends up a bit choppy, since it’s just re-sampling from 30 fps.

  2. Very good work. Would like to see a video on the “other” side of Botox. Every three months I have 550cc of Boxtox injected into my legs and arm to prevent spasams from MS. It works wonders and keeps me out of what was horrible pain. It’s a wonder-drug in ways much more then this.
    Again, very good work, glad I found your blog.

  3. The snowboarding video is awesome. One critique: You should have started with the action right away. Start with your single best image. A couple of those crazy jumps/falls would have shaken the viewer’s curiosity to attention.

Comments are closed.