A better Final Cut lower thirds title generator


lowerthirds

 Final Cut Pro and Express users have long been frustrated with Apple’s lower thirds title generator for it lack of features. Many of the problems have been fixed in this free Final Cut plug-in by Alex Gollner.  It provides more typeface, position and design options for adding text to productions. Simply download it and drop it in your Final Cut plug-in folder here: Your Startup HD/Library/Application Support/Final Cut Pro System Support/Plug-ins. It’s not to fancy like a Motion template, but for quick lower thirds on deadline, this will to the trick. 

I haven’t really explored the many options for plug-ins for Final Cut. Anybody using a plug in that they can’t live without? Please share your comments…

6 thoughts on “A better Final Cut lower thirds title generator

  1. re: “Anybody using a plug in that they can’t live without? Please share your comments…”

    I use Boris Red in my timeline for almost everthing! I would be helpless without it.

  2. I downloaded this a couple weeks ago and use it all the time now. Alex has done a great job of taking somewhat useless standard FCP plugins and tweaking them to be what you would expect in the first place. I also use his custom crawl plugin.

  3. Pingback: Links from the past week | News Videographer

  4. I usually create my lower 3rds using Livetype, but this gives me a really useful additional tool.

    Many thanks

  5. Wicked Cool! Thank you so very much. The workaround I had been using was killing me.

Comments are closed.